Dragon Ball Z: Super Saiya Densetsu



Box – Game Box Only

Manual – Manual Only

Complete Kit – Box, Manual, and Labels



Dragon Ball Z: Legend of the Super Saiyan is a role playing video game and the first Dragon Ball game for the Super Famicom. It was originally released only in Japan on January 25, 1992.

Super Saiya Densetsu is a remake combining two earlier Famicom games of the Gokuden series: Dragon Ball Z: Kyōshū! Saiyan and Dragon Ball Z II: Gekishin Freeza, but without the movie characters and anime filler elements that were featured in them. This is the English translation version as is fully playable on any North American SNES or SNES-compatible system.


Playable characters consist of (in order): Goku, Piccolo, Gohan, Krillin,Yamcha, Tien Shinhan, Chiaotzu, Dende, two Namek Warriors (Maima andTsumuri), Vegeta, Nail, and Captain Ginyu (through body exchange). By using Captain Ginyu, you can manage to take the body of any character, though this returns to normal at the end of a fight.


Enemies in the game include: Blue, Orange, Green, Black, Purple/Cyan, and Gray Saibamen. Once on Namek, there are two of Frieza’s henchmen (Banan and Appule), who get two color edits as separate enemies. After they are defeated, Cui, Dodoria, Zarbon, and the Ginyu Force all get two re-colors as individual enemies that are roughly half as strong as their originals.

The fighting system is based on a variety of symbols, numbers (represented by dots), and the card itself. The player has a total of 5 cards (5 attacks) for most situations, randomly generated. The player can use item cards like Oolong to re-exchange them, or King Yemmaor Chi-Chi to max out a card’s potential.

Normal Attack Cards: White cards with a School Character (Turtle School, Demon,Kami, Alien). A character has a preference (Piccolo’s preference is Demon) and that will initiate an “attack all.”

Strong Attack Cards: Yellow cards. Piccolo’s preference switches to these after an optional super-fusion with Dende and Two Nameks.

Ginyu Attack Cards: Black Cards with Ginyu Force symbol. Basically the same as Normal Attack Cards.

Ki Attack Cards: Blue Cards. Each Ki Card uses one Ki Attack or Ability.

The number of stars on the top-left Dragon Ball references the attack power (one star being weakest, Z being strongest). There are eight ranks of strength.

Additional information

Weight .75 lbs
Dimensions 5.5 x 1 x 3.5 in

Box, Manual, Complete Kit (Box, Manual, Labels)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Dragon Ball Z: Super Saiya Densetsu”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *